Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are suffering from the horrible traffic jams that some capital cities give, for example, Bangkok and Jakarta. Some might say that raising government funds on railways would be the most effective solution to fix this issue. I completely disagree with the statement. I believe spending their money on roads, the main route of transportation, would solve this problem even better.

First of all, it is generally thought that railways are giving a lot of convenience to drivers in the traffic. Governments may think that they create a path for drivers to run away from the jams, but they are also running away from the real issue too. Railways are not the main path of transportation. They should be concerned about the root of the problem, the roads, not by the end of it. Instead of constructing a new route for passengers, the authorities should be responsible in developing the major ones by organizing the route and increasing the street lanes.

Another supporting reason is that some vehicles are prohibited to railways, such as bicycles, motorcycles and gigantic trucks. Driving in the street, you will probably see various forms of transportation, not every person in the town owns a four-wheels car. By spending money on roads, governments will be able to serve a more convenient and preferable path for both public and personal transportings.

All in all, the authorities should consider and give support to roads, the main root of the cause. With the urge to develop and organize the routes by creating a shortcut in the traffic and widening the street lens, it will benefit all of the citizens both public and individuals.