Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every government wants to provide a safe and fast commuting service for their population. So, when the debate arises about whether the government should focus more on developing railways rather than roads, many tend to agree with trains. I am also in favor of the suggestion that more attention needs to be on the development of railways.

Firstly, trains can be a safer mode of transportation for general citizens as well as for merchants. According to surveys, traffic accidents on highways are much more common and have deadly consequences than on railways. In addition to being safer, it is also really fast to travel by train. Rails can carry hundreds of people and thousands of tons of goods at the same time. Some trains can also have faster speeds. For instance, shuttle train travels faster than regular private cars and public buses making the rail a very reasonable and fast option for citizens. So, the government should be prudent in investing in such a significant sector for commuting and business purposes.

Secondly, rails cause comparatively less pollution to the environment whereas private vehicles and buses emit a significant number of toxic substances into the air. The government of any country should focus on ways to make their place’s environment friendly, healthy, and greener. Developing greatly in the railway sector pollution can be controlled in a great way. For example, many developing countries in Europe have worked heavily on developing their train system. As a result, they have successfully reduced carbon emission levels to a great degree.

In conclusion, taking active steps toward building a faster, more secure, and environmentally friendly railway service can benefit the population. So, logically every developed or developing country should prioritize railway development