Governments should spend tax money on public libraries rather than public transportation improvements. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that governments have the authorities to focus more on improving public transportation rather than public libraries. Places like libraries tend to be the treasure box for a lot of valuable resources and it is usually quiet, providing the optimum space for the students to study. However, more people are dependent on transportation rather than the library and in my opinion, using taxes in public transportation can be more beneficial.

To begin with, libraries are one of the best places to study. Because libraries often possess thousands of books and novels, they provide thousands of important knowledge and insights into various fields of study. Due to the presence of the regulation to be silent in libraries, it could also be the most adequate place to fully concentrate on tasks. However, based on my personal impression, more people are starting to have the preference to study at different places, such as cafes, houses, and schools.

Transportation, on the other hand, is dominant to a greater number of people than the number of students visiting libraries. It allows people to conveniently transport from one place to another. Due to this increase in demand, I think governments must spend more effort trying to improve public transportation. Moreover, there are more concerns about the quality of transportation facilities than the quality of libraries. For instance, in Sri Lanka, some traffic lights are out of services, roads are not even, and most importantly, people have to wait for hours for the next bus to arrive due to traffic.

In conclusion, libraries could be improved to become more accessible to students to study, however due to higher demand in improving the public transportation from larger population of people, I would argue to have the government spending more tax for repairing transportation facilities.