Graduates who cannot find work in their chosen field should be advised to do a second degree, rather than taking a job that does not interest them. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this day and age, many graduates struggle to find employment in their chosen field. Some advise them to pursue a second degree instead of taking an unappealing job. While additional academic study can provide benefits, I believe that it is not always the most effective solution.

Completing a second degree is a long and challenging journey. It requires significant time and effort to prepare for the entrance exam as well as following university’s programme. In today’s fast-paced life, spending several more years in education is not a practical solution for everyone, especially those looking to secure an income. While choosing to study further, graduates have traded off their time to take other opportunities in certain periods instead.

Furthermore, universities charge high fees for their courses. This lengthy investment can lead to accumulated debt if individuals take out loans to cover their educational expenses. Even if they have enough money and time to complete their studies, there is no guarantee that they will secure a desirable job upon graduation. This uncertainty and unpredictability should be carefully considered when making a decision.

Despite these hurdles, for those pursuing academic, high qualification fields, doing a second degree can be a valuable decision. Many of these fields require a bachelor’s degree as a standard prerequisite to entry, such as doctor, lawyer. Therefore, there are no other options available except for pursuing a second degree.

In conclusion, while doing a second degree is a viable option to someone, it is not necessarily a best choice to everyone. Time, financial resources and inherent risk must be weighted against the potential benefits.