Graduates who cannot find work in their chosen field should be advised to do a second degree, rather than taking a job that does not interest them. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The favourable economic climate across the globe leads to more requirements and high expectations from a wide range of companies for graduates, resulting in many of them cannot get a job in their chosen field and should be persuaded to do a second degree, istead of working in a position that does not satisfied them. I tend to agree with this view because of the following reasons.

The reality of competitive employment market now is the first consideration. Currently, postgraduate certificates are inevitable for all employees who work in large businesses, the trend leads to intense competition for enrollment. To illustrate, interviewees always want to show the best profiles or resumes with attachments of language certificates and other qualifications for interviewers, as the second degree might regard as an outstanding strength with high possibility of recruitment.

The second consideration is job satisfaction which strongly affects to workers’ decision in the job market. Some people believe that working in their chosen field is the fulfillments after graduations, even if this cannot meet the need of payments, career advancements, and working hours. However, in the long run, carrying on that belief would cause to exhaustion of energy, losing motivations to upgrade career targets, and ultimately job dissatisfaction. Thus, making a greater effort for the second degree to secure stable occupation may be a good idea for graduates.

In conclusion, if your financial budget allows you to take the second degree immidiately, I think it worths to take into account this to avoid dead time after graduation. If you cannot afford all of the tuition fees instantly, I think taking a part-time job while studying is not a bad idea.