Group or team activities can teach more important skills for life than those activities which are done alone. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that collaborative pursuits equip individuals with more essential skills for daily life than those undertaken alone. While completing tasks individually can help individuals develop self-awareness and navigate life’s pathways, I believe that working in a team can help people gain valuable skills for their future careers, such as communication, responsibility, and problem-solving.

The most significant advantages of activities carried out alone are that they build self-control and discipline rather than social competence. Working alone can help people control and track their schedules by choosing suitable working hours to be more productive. This can help people to build self-control skills and manage time effectively. For example, people who work online, such as freelancers, tend to have a more organized routine than people who work within a group by sticking to a plan. This kind of working not only builds daily habits but also manages time freely without considering anyone’s opinion about the working schedule. Additionally, solitary working does not require considering others’ opinions about a particular decision. This avoids any further disagreement and misunderstanding in work, which cause delays in work.

On the other hand, team-based activities involve constant communication and negotiation, which allow people to build real-life experiences, because team members must control their time and divide workload equally according to each member’s ability to avoid further disagreement. For example, professors in universities often divide students into groups for class projects. Hence, they can learn to solve problems together and manage their time under pressure, which helps them to build communication, problem-solving, and time-management skills. These are highly valued in the job market, regardless of students’ professions.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of working alone, such as developing self-control and discipline, team-based activities help to develop skills which are highly valued by employers, such as communicating, tackling problems and managing time under pressure.