Health services are a basic necessity. However, private companies have made them quite costly for ordinary individuals. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh its disadvantages?

In this economy, medical services have already advanced, but their affordability and availability have been limited to certain groups of individuals. Private companies offer better and high-quality services at skyrocketing prices. In my point of view, the situation has more advantages than disadvantages.

Health services are supposed to be expensive as the improvement of advanced technology in this field is extremely vast. In addition, healthcare professionals, like doctors, nurses, and pharmacists, should be given a fairly high pay because of the dedication and knowledge they use to treat difficult diseases like cancer. Moreover, research in the medical field is tremendously hard and takes a lot of time. As a result, we currently have very cutting-edge technologies and treatments to cure illnesses.

However, it is understandably very controversial as it is not feasible for some people to attain the same medical treatments, especially those living in poverty. They, unfortunately, lose the chance to treat their illnesses, which violates basic human rights as it is fundamentally said that every person deserves the same chance to be healthy. On the other hand, it can be fixed by the government. Those with policy-making power can create some laws or collaborate with private healthcare companies and use taxes for a good cause to make healthcare accessible for everyone despite its high cost.

To summarize, it is unsurprising that medical expenses are unaffordable for ordinary individuals. Nonetheless, it is fixable as the government can make use of taxes to make healthcare available. Therefore, I personally believe the benefits of private healthcare outweigh the detriments.