High school students should be required to volunteer every summer to support their community. Do you agree or not?

The question of whether youths of high schools have to devote labor every summer in order to assist their society has received a great deal of public attention. From my perspective, I vehemently oppose this point of view for several reasons.

It is understandable why someone extols the idea that it is a wise course of action for high school pupils to contribute their efforts to society during the summertime each year. This could be based on the assumption that by volunteering, students can improve skills related to community such as conversing or empathizing. However, this point of view is short-sighted because resting after school time is a basic right which every learner should have. Forcing them to do what they do not prefer may lead to the resistance of students or their parents since it is in contrast to the individuals’ right to freedom, thereby causing terrible results.

To reinforce my point of view, I think it is of paramount importance that students’ decisions are respected. First, there is a lack of certainty regarding whether types of voluntary works are suitable for them. To be specific, many works, which are not universally applicable, are assigned to scholars such as constructing or educating, which require physical strength or professional skills. Therefore, instead of being imposed misaligned expectations, they should be offered privileges which allow them to choose their favorite tasks. Second, since some young individuals experienced stressful courses from their schools, it is ridiculous for some people to force them to spend their summer, which is their relaxing vocations, volunteering. For instance, many reliable reports show that young people who are imposed significant expectations can be impressed easily.

To conclude, subjecting young scholars to serve society through volunteering is unreasonable. Therefore, high school pupils should be allowed to opt for doing voluntary works or not.