How has technology changed our relationships? Has this been a positive or negative development?

These days, technology has dramatically altered the nature of relationships. In what follows, I will explain how technology has modified the kinds of relationships people have and argue that it has been both a positive and negative trend.

Technology has impacted our relationships in two main ways. Firstly, it has drastically increased physical distance such that people no longer have social gatherings like they used to. Studies show that, compared with 20 years ago, the frequency of familly get-togethers has significantly decreased by a third. Secondly, technology has led to more awareness of each other’s situations. For example, social networks such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, etc. have encouraged people to share their moments such that we know about our friends’ daily routines and activities, exercise schedule, and even their dinner. Therefore, technological advances have noticeably affected our interactions.

In my opinion, these technological progresses have had both pros and cons. From the positive perspective, social networks are entertaining such that people do not feel bored because they are accessible and easy to use. Furthermore, we can learn many things on these social platforms such as cooking, dancing, new languages, etc. Another example concerns the use of robots. These technological innovations can influence the relationships people have, for example by helping people with disabilities or normal people with their house chores. These simple things can, in turn, change people’s relationships by allaying a few of people’s daily concerns.