Human activities have negative effect on plant and animal species. some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Other believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that a great number of flora and fauna species are adversely affected by human activities. Although some believe that it is pointless to tackle this issue as no solution will ever be effective, I argue that people can still implement viable solutions to ameliorate it.

On the one hand, the notion that there is nothing for humans to do to lessen their detrimental impact on the existence of plants and animals is sound to some extent. The main reason is that some species have become extinct even before human intervention. This is evident in how the dinosaurs were killed off by an asteroid that struck the Earth 65 million years ago, long before human beings became their own species. As well as this, plenty of endangered creatures are predicted to vanish despite the measures taken by human beings. This is because many food chains are detrimentally affected by the disappearance of certain vegetation and animals in the ecosystem, leading to a shortage of food and then the unstoppable death of other organisms.

On the other hand, opponents believe that human beings can adopt measures to ameliorate environmental issues. First and foremost, governments can enact laws to ban illegal acts that pose a threat to natural habitats. For example, the Vietnamese government introduced laws on industrial waste management in 2001, which deterred factories from discharging waste into rivers and oceans without proper treatment processes, and thus successfully improved the water quality in industrial areas to protect a significant number of aquatic creatures. Furthermore, individuals can compensate for their environmental damage. To be more specific, they can construct reserves for hunted animals or plant trees to restore deforested areas to protect the numbers of animals dying out and recover the ecosystem. As a result, numerous species can be saved in time and avoid becoming extinct.

In conclusion, although both sides have some ground reasons, I personally think that human beings should be responsible for the protection of wildlife by abiding by environmental regulations and rehabilitating nature. To that end, it would be ideal if international bodies such as the UN would encourage all people to play their part in preserving the existence of animals and plants.