If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change?

There is no denying that hometowns play a crucial role for humans to cultivate perspectives and life-long relationships, and environment, conditions, and systems of hometowns affect people strongly, so it is not too much to say that the environment of one’s hometown strongly shapes personality. It is a matter of relativity what change to make, and the answer to this question depends on one’s perspective. All in all, I’d like to change the length of summer vacation in my hometown for two reasons.

First and foremost, rest is one of the essential factors to pursue education effectively. My hometown is known for the shortest summer vacation in Japan, and, in fact, students have remarkably short summer vacation in my hometown. As that has been mentioned, rest from studying help us relax, and when we get back to study, it enables us to concentrate on studying more. However, in my hometown, students have a short summer vacation, but are given a heavy amount of homework, so they cannot rest properly in their vacation, which never leads to positive consequences. For better education, my hometown councils should take one simple solution: expanding the length of summer vacation.

Secondly, if students have a long summer vacation, they can do a lot of things which they want to do outside of studying. It is clear that education is not just learning subjects like math or history. Countless experiences and relationships, have significant value in education, and help students to make enriched perspectives and positive attitudes, which is crucial in life. With a long vacation, students can dedicate time to priceless experiences such as studying abroad or attending volunteers.

In conclusion, I’d like to change the length of summer vacation in my hometown for these reasons. Since students cannot change education systems their selves, adults need to reconsider the system of education and improve the system for their benefit.