Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

As the world’s population is rising by every passing day, the number of vehicles on the road has risen significantly. As a result, traffic congestion is becoming more severe and is a major problem for cities. Owing to that, this essay will discuss solutions that can resolve this issue.

For developing countries and underdeveloped countries, the widespread of public transport is crucial to solve this problem. So, governments should, invest in high-tech public transport and shift from fossil fuel to sustainable energy sources. For example, Viet Nam – a developing country is well pacing its way to resolve traffic jam, with investment in collaborating with Japan to make a metro system which traverses though all major points in Ho Chi Minh city – a major economic point. In addition, almost all buses and public transports are now using electric to run, only a small portion of major buses hasn’t been changed. In response to all the changes, citizens are happy with the changes, with a major part of people using buses and the metro to go to work, with many claiming that electric buses are cleaner, less noisy and more comfortable than traditional ones, and the metro is a great way to arrive to work without the worry of being late due to traffic congestion in rush hours.

With developed countries – regions where cars are commonly introduced everywhere, bikes and motorbikes are scarce, overhead highways might be the solution to this issue. As this not only reduces accidents but also lowers the traffic density, providing road clearance and organization. For instance, many developed countries in the world – like the USA, Britian… utilizes this concept to significantly reduce their traffic congestion. In addition, a reasonable mapping of the city and timing of traffic lights can provide alternative routes if the main route is clogged due to traffic, this divides traffic into smaller parts to minimize the impact of the “rush hour”.

To conclude, indeed traffic congestion is becoming more and more impactful on cities, but solutions are being made to mitigate the negative impact of this problem. Actions are also being carried out in many countries and is projected to continue in the future. For example, Vietnam has done a great job in imbuing solutions in major cities with a surprising pace.