IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the view that, it is necessary for children to differentiate between positive and negative behaviour at a tender age and therefore punishment is vital to assist with this distinction.I completely agree to this statement.This is because most children are easily influenced and indiscipline. I will explain my point of view in the following two paragraphs.

A good reason for which punishment should be included in nurturing children to know what is right and wrong is that, first of all children mostly copy and practice any behaviour they observe without knowing it’s implications.To elaborate on this,they demonstrate good or bad behaviour without understanding.some throw tantrums and cry unnecessarily when they want something.Once they are asked to do desist from that attitude they see nothing wrong with it.Which means It is difficult for them to keep a good behaviour even when they have been talked to.For instance children in olden days conducted themselves well because their parents included punishment in training them to know good and bad deeds unlike nowdays where children are spared of rod and they keep misbehaving.

Another point to consider is that most children are not discipline and difficult to raise them to become responsible adult.In other words they hardly follow instructions.They tend to do things how they want without thinking about the implications.Settling rules coupled with punishment helps them to know the difference between right and wrong.For instance children are scared of anything that inflict pain on them so they conduct themselves well when they realize punishment is inevitable should they do wrong act.Therefore it is vital to reasonably punish children for misconduct in other to shape their lives to become responsible in later life.

In conclusion some people are of the opinion that punishment is vital in helping a child to distinct between positive and negative behaviour.I fully concur because children are vulnerable to negative influence and indiscipline act. Adequate parental control involving reasonable punishment for misconduct will help them to differentiate between right and wrong to fit well in the society.