IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is self-evident that children should be taught about ethical and sinister behavior at an early age. By the same token, some people suggest that to achieve this aim, parents and teachers can use an instrument named punishment. However, I believe that punishment especially corporal punishment can result in detrimental consequences for children and people acting in association with children must be prohibited from using punishment.

To embark on, although children are supposed to learn the differences between appropriate and devious manners in early steps, their parents and instructors should not be allowed to enlist punishment as a tool. This is because punishment can create various disorders and complexes in the personality of children. On the other hand, as childhood memories have a profound impact on adulthood behaviors if children encounter punishment in the initial stages of their lives, it is more likely that they suffer emotional disorders like aggression, a lack of confidence, and, dishonesty in the future. For example, according to a report, published in the Psychological Research of Tehran University, the majority of people who committed a crime, have experienced punishments in their childhood.

Moreover, I believe punishment cannot be considered an effective method for ethical upbringing in childhood stages because it innately contrasts with the spirit of training. In other words, our offspring to acquire new competencies need to be in a tranquil environment, thus, punishment creates and recreates a critical and unpleasant situation for children, depriving them of the basic right to learn. In fact, there are plenty of efficient ways to educate children on how to be an ethical and honorable person in the future. For instance, parents and trainers can narrate different stories to children, and in the end, they explain the ethical principles to children. In addition, children can be informed about virtues through watching animations or playing varied games. Hence, it seems logical that express punishment may result in devastating outcomes and other policies should be taken in the realm of training.

In conclusion, I believe that penalizing children has so many harmful consequences that authorities must prevent parents and teachers from utilizing it. Anyway, I recommend that other strategies like storytelling, playing games, and watching animation be used in order to instruct children how to act appropriately.