In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities.

It is not a novelty for countries to build new railways for faster transport links between inner and outer cities. However, there is a question in whether the money should be spent on improving the existing transport or building new ones. This essay will weigh the pro and cons of these two proposals and give out my take on this.

On the one hand, investing funds in building new transport infrastructure could mean providing new links to cities that were not yet connected to the transport system and also greatly reduce the time needed to get to places. With the newly built railways, it provides the possibility for citizens to travel to other parts of the country in a shorter time span and at ease. This not only helps connect cities but also foster growth and strengthen economy ties between them. Furthermore, the upgraded transport facilities can offer great convenience to citizens allowing them to travel within and out of the city more easily.

On the other hand, it is not advisable to spend a large amount of money on building new railways with little or no regard to improving the existing ones. The existing transport in urban centers is what people need most and improving them should be the government’s priority. It is vital to make sure most people have access to them and enjoy the convenience of these facilities before much of the money can be invested in building new ones. What’s more, it requires a great deal of funding in order to construct new infrastructure, so it is not always possible for cities to allocate money into doing so.

To sum up, it is true that cities can be more connected with money spent on building new transport services. However, it should be noted that this can not be the focus of government spending before the majority of the population have been provided access to existing transport.