In a public-funded healthcare system, people who are willing to pay for the best and fastest treatment should be able to do so. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are willing to pay more to benefit from the most optimum and effective medical treatment in a public-funded healthcare system.It may seems reasonable for some people as they deserve the most quality medical service for paying more than other patients.However,I strongly disagree with this opinion because everyone in this society has equal rights to obtain effective and affordable treatment and the medical resource should be preserved for those in emergency situation.

First and foremost,every member of the society has equal rights to get quality treatment. Despite the larger financial contribution to healthcare system from people with higher income, everyone has a fair share of building a comprehensive and effective healthcare system in a country.Therefore,it is undeniable that every individual deserves quality and efficient treatment to ensure their health,irrespective of their income and social status.For instance,although workers at construction sites do not contribute as much as the successful businessmen do, they should be treated equally in terms of medical service because they are also taxpayers who fund for the operation of public-funded healthcare system.

Furthermore,owing to the scarcity of medical resource in the world,it should be partially preserved for the patients in emergency needs instead of allocating all to the affluent.The medical treatment should be given based on the severity of the disease and the needs of patients, but not the bills they are willing to pay because enhancing public health is always the prior mission of a public-funded healthcare system.For example, patients who faint due to heart attack should be given the fastest treatment with the best medical facilities to save them from other health risks.Otherwise,many patients have to be sacrificed because they can’t afford to pay the medical bills that are as expensive as the affluent people do.

In conclusion,I wholeheartedly opine that people should not pay for the most quality and effective treatment even though they are willing to do so.Social equality and the medical needs of patients should precede the personal needs of people contributing more to a public-funded healthcare system.