In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When an individual ages in Britain, they mostly move to an assisted living facility, where they will be nurse. Most of the time, the government is responsible for their funding. I think the government should pay for this care, the reason is that some families cannot afford to pay for the care and some elderly people have been abandoned there.

The first reason why the government should pay for this care , is that some families can no longer afford to support the elderly financially. Some families decide to send an older person to a facility, because of the struggle they have at home, like struggling to find food and decide to send them to a healthy facility,hoping the government to help them. For example, in S. A there’s is a facility called The Blinds, where people who can’t see and can’t afford to pay are helped buy the government.

The second reason is that some elders have been left there, no contact for the family, like nothing at all. These people are helped by the government with the cost of the care. Since there is no member of family supporting them. For example a lot of elders in homes in S. A, do not even have one family member that you will tell, when the patient dies, so everything will be the government responsibility.

To conclude, in Britain, when you become an adult you are supposed to go to a homecare and be cared by nurses. I believe government should pay the money of the care, as others believe so. Because some families are left their with no one and some families can’t afford to pay the facilitie fees.