In major cities around the globe, the amount of traffic is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this? Can you suggest some possible solutions?

It is undeniable that traffic jams are frequent occasion in cities, especially in rush hours. This essay will discuss how an increase in car production and people’s migration from rural to urban areas are the main cause of this problem, and the most suitable solutions are free-car day and an encourage citizens to alter a vehicle to more eco-friendly one.

There are variety of factors that have led to congested roads in cities. Primarily, the production of vehicles has developed gradually since the first factory constructing automobiles only for wealthy families. Nowadays, substantial part of the production is automated, hence low costs allow to produce numerous vehicles making them more affordable for average households. Furthermore, there is a trend for companies to locate their offices and factories in big cities, concentrating labor force in one place. For instance, every morning inhabitants from Moscow and the nearest areas are going to work in skyscrapers offices, creating traffic jams.

Despite the reasons mentioned above, there are several actions that governments could take to tackle the problem. Certainly, some people find public transport less convenient and sometimes even more expansive than taxi or own car. Therefore, authorities should create better underground system, and reconstruct the whole system of public transport in order to encourage individuals to take a bus or a train for a commute. For example, not so long-ago roads in St Petersburg were overcrowded because of poor metro system, however, today, most people prefer public transport over a car as government has created perfect system where people can enjoy trip and do not worry about being late. Furthermore, authorities may conduct seminars about global warming in schools and universities because with rising of individuals’ awareness about environmental problems, many people become more concerned about exhaust fumes which are produced by cars. That is why they strive to use bicycles on a daily basis, showing that they care about nature.

In conclusion, lower price on vehicles and companies’ offices locating in cities cause heavy traffic on roads. However, development of public transportation and an increase of people’s understanding in environmental issues may alleviate the consequences of this problem.