In many cities around the world, traffic is a serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

Nowadays, cities all around the world have common problems with traffic congestion. I would like to write about some solutions or predictions that might be useful for this general situation. Also I would mention what causes put us in this place.

Firstly, problems in traffic become more serios for cities which don’t have metro, what is the case in Belgrade, capitol city of Serbia where I live. One reason for this is huge number of people who came to big city from some suburb town and large percentage of this people have their own car. Secondly, infrastucture of city changed a lot in recent years, but not in positive way, so now there are much more roads than it used to be before.

If you ask me, one of the solutions, expecially for our city, is Metro because we will have less more vehicles on roads and buses would’t be so busy. Furthermore, building more cycleroads would be very efficient because lots of people would choose to go to work by bicycle rather than car. By this I mean that in some countries government could be more commitment to build better infrastructure expecially because they can.

All in all, traffic congestion is big problem for society right now, but I believe that always have some possible solution which can solve the problem. Even though, number of people, who live in some big city, rising every year more, that could not be a problem if you think about what are your best options for this situation.