In many cities, the population is encouraged to use public transportation rather than private transports when travelling. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using public transport?

These days, more and more cities are trying to get people to use buses, trains, and other public transport instead of their personal cars. I believe there are more benefits than downsides to this idea.

One advantage of public transport is that they are more eco-friendlier than other transports. For instance, public transports carry more passengers than private transports. If the majority of passengers used public transportation, there would be fewer gas emissions. The second advantage of mass transportation is that it is cheaper than using your own transportation. If you consider not only the costs for fuel but also the costs for repairs, public transport would be much cheaper compared to owning a personal car. Another advantage is that in the crowded cities there would be fewer traffic jams as passengers use mass transportation.

Despite these advantages, public transportation has a few drawbacks too. Firstly, the majority of public transport systems’ quality is not good. In some areas, you might have to wait long until the next bus or train arrives; especially if you do not know the schedule, you may skip the bus. Secondly, public transport is often very crowded. This can cause the spread of the infections. Finally, in case you have heavy things to bring to your home with you, it would be quite hard on the buses if seats are already taken.

In conclusion, although public transportation has some downsides, such as delays and overcrowding, I still believe its benefits, including lower costs and reduced pollution, make it a better option for most people in urban areas.