In many cities, the population is encouraged to use public transportation rather than private transports when travelling. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using public transport?

Residents in numerous cities are encouraged to rely on public transport instead of using private vehicles for travel. While this shift offers some advantages, I believe that the drawbacks significantly outweigh the benefits.

One advantage of using mass transportation is that it is a quite efficient transportation method, meaning that a high number of people can be carried around in each vehicle. Compared to cars, it is much more efficient since fewer emissions are produced. Another benefit of public transport is that good alternative for the older generation. Old people often have some problems with their vision and are also at greater risk for heart attacks or strokes. Thus, for this group of people, public transport may be a safer way to get around compared to using their cars.

Even though we have seen in the previous analysis that public transport can have many crucial upsides, there are some problems related to mass transportation. One major disadvantage of public transport systems is that quality of those transportation systems is quite bad in many regions all over the world. The quality of the public transport system is often quite poor and it may take several hours to get a destination which would have been reached in just 20 minutes by car. In many big cities, the public transport systems are quite crowded, especially at rush hour. Therefore, it may be quite inconvenient to be stuck with a high number of people on a crowded train or bus every morning. This leads to plenty of stress for our body and brain system and may also cause serious health conditions in the long run.

To conclude, there are some positives associated with using public transportation when travelling, such as efficient transportation method and good alternative for elder people. However, these are not as significant as the negatives, which include bad quality and crowded at rush hour.