In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many countries worldwide, there has been a significant rise in urban migration which resulted in a decline of rural population. I am of the opinion that this is a negative development as it widens the economic gap between cities and countryside as well as exacerbates climate issues in urban areas.

Many rural residents move to metropolitan areas to improve their prosperity since there are seemingly more employment opportunities. While this is true, the decline of demographics in the countryside can cause bigger socioeconomic distance between the two distinct areas. If more great thinkers and the productive generation keep migrating to big cities, the development of rural areas is likely to be hindered due to the lack of innovation opportunities. Places in West Papua and North Kalimantan will also be given less infrastructural attention from the authority in the effort of prioritizing urgent demands of the more densely populated districts. Thus, this causes mounting inequalities in regards to the distribution of general infrastructure development between regions.

Pollution, especially air pollution coming from traffic and industrial activities, is another detrimental impact of urban migration. People living in cities like Mumbai in India and Jakarta in Indonesia are already suffering from severe air pollution, making the urban dwellers more prone to breathing problems. More migrations will potentially worsen this situation as it makes the level of street activities higher throughout years. Not to mention the global warming issue that it would contribute to. Therefore, it is comparably better to hold back the number of people trying to move to the towns.

In conclusion, due to the worsening inequality in countries and excessive pollution in big cities, urban migration cannot be conceived as a positive development. Instead, people in rural areas should stay there and find creative ways to substantially improve their current residence.