In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to the cities, so the population in countryside are decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative elopment?

In recent years, a growing number of people have left rural areas to settle in cities. While it has brought some benefits to those who move to cities, many problems may arise in the long period. Therefore, I believe that negative development outweighs much more than positive developments.

Firstly, the cost of living in cities is really high. For instance, housing cost is a significant drawback. Because housing is usually much more expensive than in countryside. Moreover, life in cities can be extremely stressful. As an example, there are problems like traffic congestion and crime. People may have to spend a lot of time on the road, and these can lead to waste of time. In addition, people do not even know their neighbors. For example, people may feel loneliness. In fact, humans are social creatures so they could need interaction with others.

On the other hand, population is decreasing in rural area. And in this situation with agricultural production. Because people are aging, and it gets difficult to find someone who can work in the field. Besides, people abandoned their farms, which can result in higher milk and meat prices. Over time, this imbalance can affect national economy because of the increasing pricing. As cities host many more people than it can, this problem will contribute to climate change and greenhouse gas.

To sum up, migrating to the cities from countryside has more negative effects than positive effects. It places heavy burden on cities which can’t carry much more than its capacity. Therefore, governments should come up with a solution to solve this crisis.