In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Children around the world have been gaining more weight than previous decades. This issue has been seen as challenge not only to individuals but also to governments. Healthy eating habit and policies can help to reduce this issue.

As the earth is developing day by day, so has the new problems such as diseases, climate change. Increase in the body weight is also one of them and more specifically child obesity is a major concern. The main reason is consumption of unhealthy diet such as processed and packed food which contains more carbohydrates and oil than healthy nutrition. Other factor could be lack of exercises as education and working conditions are being accessible with less physical effort due to modernization and digitization. For example, 20 or 30 years ago, students had to go to their school on foot for around 30 to 40 minutes but nowadays there is transportation everywhere. Child these days play indoor and mobile games instead of outdoor games.

The problem can be addressed and be halted for which both individual and public entity can play a major role. Child and their parents can enroll them in various physical activities such as sports or dance or even yoga classes, at the same time maintaining their health diet at home and school. The government should also enforce policies of have extra-curricular activities at school in addition to the academic courses such as inclusion of physical education and sports activities. These should be prioritized till the child become adult.

Childhood obesity although is seen as a burning issue can be reduced by controlling diet and involving in sports activities while the public sector can enforce suitable laws and policies.