In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

In modern eras, children and teenagers increasingly engage in illegal activities. My essay will analyze the possible reasons and suggest a feasible punishment to deal with young crime.

There are two primary reasons behind this phenomenon which arise from the excessive consumption of violent content and the situation of not being controlled strictly by families and schools. To begin with, the booming advancement of the Internet is at the expense of a disadvantage, which gives children and teenagers an exposure to an array of horror images and video, violent scenes on films or the sight of blood. What is dangerous is that if they show an inclination towards these things day by day, their consciousness will be affected adversely, thus, in the circumstances that they lose their control, they tend to behave violently. Another plausible reason is that in a number of countries, teenagers and children are not under a strict rule or control of parents and schools. This might consequently result in a reality that they have a right to own the freedom and to lead the life that they want, be it an indulgent lifestyle or getting into bad company, which easily drives them to commit a crime.

How juvenile delinquents could be penalized is such a contentious issue. On the one hand, it is obvious that the age of criminal responsibility in nations such as Viet Nam is over 16. Nevertheless, if children or teenagers carry out serious crimes, should they be forgiven? Definitely, they should not be captured in jails, therefore, a number of parents and educators, as well as activists in Viet Nam recommended that young criminals should be educated seriously in order to be rehabilitated and to reintegrate into real life later. Another case in point is that in the USA, after juveniles are tried before the court of law, he is then sent to certified schools, children’s homes, rehab centers for children to improve them with a better life and improve their behavior.

In conclusion, being influenced by the violence from media and materials spreading on the Internet and being in lax discipline could be the driving factors to juvenile crime. The best remedy to punish children and teenagers breaking the law is to give them education, or taking education as a precaution instead.