In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

In many regions of the globe, some people enunciate the idea that juveniles have a tendency to commit more offenses. There are a number of reasons behind this tendency, and several solutions should be adopted by national authorities to improve this situation.

There are two main reasons associated with this phenomenon. The first reason is that pupils lack parental guidance because of busy work schedules with 8 hours a day for office hours. This is mainly due to the fact that parents spend less time taking care of their children. So, without parental care and monitoring, many youngsters invest time with bad friends and may take part in unlawful activities such as drug abuse or shoplifting due to peer pressure. As a consequence, the mental and physical well-being of the young can be more or less affected. The other reason is that teenagers can be overexposed to violent films and games on the internet. According to a research conducted by BBC news, young people who watch too much age-inappropriate films or violent games are more likely to become more aggressive in their adulthood.

Fortunately, several measures could be taken by governments to alleviate this problem. The first solution is that children and teenagers who commit minor offenses like shoplifting or pickpocketing can be sent to reform schools where they can be taught about the dangers of committing crimes. This could be explained by the fact that by engaging in this type of school, they will be involved in rehabilitation programs and community service, in order to heighten social awareness and intellect. Furthermore, harsher punishments should be imposed on young people who commit serious crimes such as violent attacks or robbery. As a result, these dangerous criminals receive longer prison sentences, which can prevent their re-offending after being released.

In conclusion, there are various reasons for this trend, and steps need to be taken by policymakers to tackle this problem. It can be predicted that with stricter punishments and the implementation of these suggested measures, this issue could likely be alleviated in the next 10 years.