In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

In this contemporary epoch, there is a growing concern that adolescents have a tendency to commit more offenses. There are several underlying reasons behind this phenomenon and some punishments should be implemented due to the gravity of the criminal offenses for the juvenile delinquency.

To commence with, the principal causes of youth crimes are related to dysfunctional families. Specifically, family education plays a critical role in forming a child’s personal traits, meaning that youngsters from dysfunctional families may experience an absence of parental supervision, moral behavior and lack of parental affection, leaving scars on a child’s psychology. Consequently, this will potentially impact on a child’s behaviors and increase the likelihood of engagement in unlawful acts. Moreover, many young offenders from impoverished backgrounds may be more susceptible to participating in criminal activities. In other words, due to their poverty and lack of proper schooling, they have to resort to crimes such as: shoplifting, pickpocketing to maintain their daily expenses and subsistence.

However, according to the reasons for juvenile offending, some stricter punishments should be imposed to alleviate these grave issues based on the extent of criminal offenses. First of all, for petty crimes like shoplifting, a fine and verbal warning or community work like cleaning up the public spaces, watering plants could be offered. Accordingly, they may be given the chance to be cognizant of their offenses. Furthermore, harsher punishments should be implemented on young delinquents who commit adverse crimes such as: smuggling or robbery. They could be sent to rehabilitation programmes with surveillance equipment and security cameras with the 24/7 supervision, acting as a deterrent for not reoffending.

In conclusion, from the aforementioned points, it is my reaffirmation that there are some external factors such as family background and societal elements for the rise of adolescent crimes and several punishments may be implemented to tackle these pressing problems