In many countries, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

In contemporary society, new generations are committing more crimes. I think the reasons behind this phenomenon are multiple. As for the solutions to delinquency, they should be punished depending on the seriousness of the crime. In the following essay, I would like to present the motivations for committing crimes, and how to control this situation.

First of all, the key reason that they break the law is that the censorship of the internet is not strict enough. For example, children usually use the internet to study or have fun, but they might glimpse at some inappropriate videos or images such as violence accidentally. Because they do not have mature and correct values, they might tend to mimic the content of those types of videos, which will lead them to embark on a criminal path. Secondly, the other important cause is that teenagers lack awareness of laws. For instance, they might not have the proper education from schools, especially in poverty areas. They might steal some products and might bully their classmates, etc. What is more, they do not even think that these actions are wrong.

As for the punishments, I think most of the young people are able to be convinced. So I advise that, according to the seriousness and frequency of their offenses, we should punish them. For example, if a kid just steals a little item from the grocery and that is his first time, then I think indoctrination is appropriate. In addition, their parents should also be taught because they did not teach their kids correct values. But some children are committing some really serious crimes like murdering or raping underage people. I suggest these kinds of children should be put into prison and fined money.

In conclusion, I believe certain departments should enhance internet censorship and punish the new generations in appropriate ways.