In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this contemporary world, it has become common to see young children work in many countries. While some people claim that this trend is not acceptable, others state that working is significant for learning because it provides wonderful experiences.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why people believe this phenomenon is an issue. These include the loss of interests in school subjects as well as being exposed to inappropriate working environment. First of all, when children found themselves busy in some types of paid work, there are possibilities that such children will become hungry for money. Sooner or later, the individuals will stop paying attention to assignments and school-related activities. Secondly, there are many kinds of works in this modern world including both legal and illegal jobs. For instance, a child may unknowingly involve his or herself in illegal business smuggling, thus resulting in having negative impact on that child’s life.

On the other hand, this trend is not without its own benefits which can range from learning how to be responsible and independent to having work experiences that can become useful for children’ future careers. For instance, young individuals who work part-time can gain their own money, thus having to learn how to use that money wisely. This can lead to the young individuals become less dependent on their parents. Another example is that when a child works a part-time job in a particular restaurant, that child can gain the experience of dealing with the customers, cleaning tables and chairs, preparing dishes, working with other people and following the restaurant’s policy. These can be advantageous to that child in her future careers.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that working paid-jobs can be beneficial for the children, if the jobs are safe for them. Therefore, the drawbacks are minimum when children do a throughout research on jobs that they are going to take.