In many countries, governments spend large sums of money on the arts and this is supported by some taxpayers as worthwhile. Others, however, think that this money would be better spent on health and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In many countries over the world, spending on the arts has become a common approach of governments. Some individuals claim that this expenditure is reasonable, while others believe that authorities should invest more in healthcare and education. Although both schools of though hold merit, I agree more with the latter perspective.

On the one hand, investment in the arts can bring a number of considerable benefits. To begin with, in this day and age, almost goverments have met the fundamental needs, such as food and accommodation, of their residents, leading to an increase in the demand for mental health and entertainment. Therefore, putting more resources in all types of arts can instill a sense of satisfaction along will enhance citizens’ living standard. In addition, thanks to the development of the arts, which is an prevalent enthusiasm, people can easily access to this aspect, and meet many like-minded people. As a result, this situation allows people to develop their social life, fostering a sense of community. Furthermore, the arts is also closely linked with creativity and imagination, hence applying this field can create a well-rounded innovation to nations.

Despite the above arguments, I still believe that healthcare and education should be the priority of any countries. The first reason is that a vast number of countries own poor hospitals and healthcare systems, while complex and dangerous diseases are rising increasingly. This could threaten the life of many citizens, if authorities are unable to put an end to this situation. In this way, enhencing the quality of healthcare is the best way to ensure that the population can have a stable life. Moreover, spending on education is worth because this is a basic factor helping countries to develop. The reason is that a developed education can create an excellent workforce, which acts as a vehicle for vigorous economic growth. By contrast, nations having poor education tend to be undeveloped. Nigeria is a typical example, in this country, the rate of children who have access to schools is increably low, which is distributed to the undevelopment and low quality of life to its population.

In conclusion, although investment in the arts have possitive impacts, I would argue that governments should put more emphasis on education and healthcare.