In many countries, more and more shops remain open until late every day of the week. Is it a positive or negative development for both the local community and shoppers?

Nowadays, many shops work long hours in different countries, which definitely has benefits for either customers or business owners as it makes shopping convenient. However, there are drawbacks such as loud visitors of stores at night.

One of the major downsides of long working hours of shopping venues like shops are that they can break the silence of neighborhood. In many countries shopping centres are located near the residential areas. As a result, areas near the shopping malls are always crowded and noisy, which can negatively affect on residents night sleep. Another negative aspect of shops remaining open until late hours is that shop owners have to pay salaries according to the working hours of employees, and wage for night shift is usually higher than in the day time. For that reason, business owners’s revenue may be lower.

On the other hand, there are also notable positives for both sides when markets are open for long hours. First, long opening hours of shopping centers is very handy for customers as they can purchase their necesseries in any time they want. This would be very convinient to go shopping for those people who work until late hours. Furthermore, parents with little babies can buy their necesseiries such as nappies or milk, even in the midnight. Secondly, shop owners may also benefit from this, as long opening hours may bring them more customers. Thus as more customers thay have higher income they will bring. For instance, before Covid-19 since markets used to work until midnight, their revenue was higher than after pandemic times.

In conclusion, while there are some challenges like noisy streets and expenditure for business owners such as payment for night shift , long-time working stores offer clear benefits such as availability in urgent times and help businesses increase their revenue.