In many countries, much money is spent by governments and individuals for national days such as new year and religious festivals To what extent you agree or disagree?

Numerous people are condemning that a large portion of the national and personal budget is allocated to national days such as New Year Eve and traditional festivals. To my assessment, although I admit that these events might be excessively costly, I believe that the celebration of these occasions are culturally significant to society.

Granted, the cost for the establishment of a cultural event is exorbitant. In fact, in order to impress the global community and assert the nation’s wealth and influence, many governments lavishly allocate a large amount of government revenue to celebrate National Day and other religious events. However, these celebrations are ephemeral since they only last a few days, which render these celebrations worthless of the allocated budget. Furthermore, after the celebrations, civilians will discard all the religious items related to the occasions, which can culminate in negative environmental impacts for the region. For example, in India, there are a myriad of celebrations requiring flowers as an offering to the deity. Nevertheless, when the occasions go by, people throw all the religious offerings away into water bodies, which significantly devastates marine habitats.

However, the celebration of these festivals hold deep seated cultural significance to the country’s civilians and even yield economic merits. In terms of religious aspect, these celebrations play the role of appreciating the historical development and preserving the cultural heritage of the nation. As a matter of fact, these celebrations aim at reinforcing the national identity, thereby creating a sense of identity and belonging to the local residents. Moreover, the large amount of budget allocation can be redeemed by tourist attractions from these events. Religious events often draw the attention of domestic and international tourists, especially when these celebrations are meticulously organized by the governments. The appeal of these occasions towards visitors can bring tremendous economic advantages to national tourism. The celebration of New Year’s Eve at the Time Square in New York city is the prime example. This event is considered to be one of the most well-known events in the globe, which attracts the attention of various global media and international press. Therefore, America’s tourism often experiences a surge in revenue around the celebration of this event.

To summarise, although these celebrations can consume a large amount of budget, this financial loss can be compensated by the attraction of tourists. Moreover, these events have a significant meaning to the national identity and preservation of cultural heritage.