In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world.

Supermarkets wide range of product availability and international easy trade system for sending locally grown products all over the world is the main point of discussion here. I strongly believe this is a positive development.

Now, we live in a global village and trade barriers are vanishing from the world scene. Global trading has become easier with newly established trade routes comprising new seaways and airlifting services. Also, people all around the world now look for the best products, and with the help of the internet, they know where to find them. For example, while I was in Denmark for food safety related training, I went to a supermarket to buy some fruit. To my surprise, I found that bananas produced in Costa Rica were available there and the quality was absolutely amazing. Such a strong transport and trade network is established that a low shelf-life fruit can travel to a different continent’s supermarket.

Supermarkets strong supply chain is also a great factor in getting the best food from all over the world. The chain shops have greatly advanced their consumer surveys and managed to act accordingly. Different arrays of products with a large number of choices have given customers freedom. Their ability to provide food products from anywhere has made planet earth a small town.

In conclusion, the world trade system has improved significantly in the last two decades with the help of good trade policy, a strong transport system, advanced food preservation techniques, and a better communication system. Consumers can pick their foods according to their wishes and have the world’s best products within easy reach.