In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, most individuals are at liberty of going to the supermarket and purchasing food products which are produced worldwide. In my view, I believe this is a positive development because of its numerous benefits.

To begin, the availability of variety of food products in a supermarket provides a diverse range of options which individuals can select from; it gives people the ability to choose a wide range of consumables. In addition, it ensures that healthier choices of food products are available for purchase in every geographical location. For instance, certain crops with low fat contents, such as the native Chinese rice is suitable for cultivation only China; however, this rice is imported to various countries and is being sold in supermarkets. This highlights how supermarkets offer a range of healthy foods which are only available in certain regions.

Furthermore, being able to buy a wide range of food products from the supermarkets is very cost effective and efficient; this is because it provides the means of purchasing these products from a shop nearby instead of travelling to different communities in order to buy them; thereby cutting the cost of transportation and diverting the resources to other valuable expenses such as healthcare and education. Another point to note is that, it is very easy to purchase these materials from supermarkets close by than getting them in distant countries; in so doing, less time and energy will be expended in the purchase of food products.

In conclusion, although a faction of individuals might say purchasing foods from supermarket has an adverse effect, I believe that it is very beneficial because of the ease and availability of different food products.