"In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?"

There is no doubt that supermarkets play an integral role in human life as they provide essential goods required for daily survival. However, many people believe that people in numerous countries at present, can buy a wide variety of food products around the world in a hypermarket. Personally, i think this is the positive development which will be discussed in this essay with relevant examples.

Firstly, supermarkets are indispensable in people’s lives. This is because it provides convenient food products which act as alternative to home cooked meals for individuals. For instance, people working in an organization have to reach for workplaces early in the morning which makes it difficult for them to prepare food at home. At that time, products like ready made foods, beverages biscuits, and chocolates serve as food to satisfy their hunger. People of all economic classes can obtain food products in hypermarket. Food items like instant noodles and readymade chapati for poor families, whereas cakes and premium items for wealthy people to reduce their appetite. People can acquire various types of food at one place in a supermarket instead of moving to multiple places. This makes purchasing of customers efficient. Therefore, food products in supermarkets improve convenience and accessibility to the people to purchase them.

Another key factor is that seasonal products are available in supermarkets throughout the year. For illustration, mangoes can be available during summer seasons in normal times but in supermarkets it is available during off seasons which can be helpful for the public to follow a diverse diet.

In contrast, over consumption of processed food products and sugary items from supermarkets leads to various diseases. To exemplify, excess intake of biscuits, chocolates, and cakes can cause obesity which then results in diabetes mellitus. Furthermore more consumption of carbonated beverages can cause flu and other respiratory diseases. Ingestion of more sugar products leads to tooth decay as bacteria in the mouth feed on these products causing erosion of enamel. In addition, when people become habituated to eat food products from. Supermarkets for their regular diet, then they can forget the preparation process of traditional foods and their importance for healthy life style.

In conclusion, although overconsumption of excessive processed foods can have negative health impact on people’s lives. In my opinion, availability of a wide variety of products around the world in a supermarket is a positive development. It not only saves time and effort, but also reduces the stress and hunger and help in enhancing people life style which is beneficial for the society.