In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the rapid development of urbanization in all major cities, alongside the international integration happening everywhere, consumers can easily go to a supermarket and buy food from other countries. Under my perspective, this is a positive trend and should be further encouraged due to the wide range of economic and cultural benefits it offers.

The multicultural cuisine in supermarkets can promote international trade and hence, boost the overall economy of a region. This phenomenon gives consumers a wide variety of choices, therefore, attracts people to come back for further exploration. For instance, Vietnamese people would be already too familiar with their own food specialties. So if supermarkets offer new items such as kimchi and seaweed, the fascination would urge them to buy more, hence supporting the local supermarket financially. Moreover, supporting foreign food product importation can improve the income of labourers from other countries as well, especially from under-developed nations.

On a cultural aspect, this notion is also extremely beneficial in today’s day and age. International connections are greatly valued, and society encourage every individuals to be a global citizen. By fostering consumers to buy food produced in other countries, people can understand different cultures better and easier. This is the first important step in the journey of creating a loving and welcoming society, also to reduce racism. A westerner can find the idea of eating fermented fish disgusting at first, but if they have a chance to actually taste it, their prejudice against that foreign food can be discharged.

In conclusion, the notion of providing multinational food items in supermarket is greatly beneficial to both the economy and society. Hopefully these store departments will continue to sell products from all around the world and broaden the variety to unpopular cultures as well.