In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

At present, there are a lot of imported foods all over the world that customers can buy at the supermarket. This provides more choice of ingredients for customers, however, it can be low quality.

First of all, consumers have more options to buy ingredients for cooking and food to eat. This is because people can create more various menus, which use some overseas ingredients. Moreover, when their country faces problems, such as drought or flood. This can make agriculture struggle and lead to less food. These imported products can help them pass the issue. Not only when faced with natural disasters, but also some crops are not suited to grow in some areas. For example, my country, Thailand, has hot weather over the year so farmers cannot grow strawberries or avocados. Thai people have these products imported by other nations. Therefore, buyers have more opportunities to choose different ingredients.

Importing food can have less qualities that can be harmful for customers’ health. Due to the fact that far distances of importing overseas ingredients can cause less freshness and some of them have fast expiration dates. For instance, seafood needs to be at a low temperature otherwise it can rot. When people eat unfresh food, they can get diarrhea. Furthermore, the government can struggle in controlling the quality of imported food so consumers have to clearly check the ingredients before eating.

In conclusion, l believe that the advantage of people being able to buy food produced all over the world outweighs the disadvantage. This is because people have more choice to choose although they have to carefully check the quality.