In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this modern contemporary, international foods are more readily available. This trend has been prevalent as a result of globalization. Although there are some disadvantages, I consider this as a positive development. This essay will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this matter and explain why I believe it offers more benefits.

In this day and age, as a consequence of globalization, in some countries, the immigration rate increases significantly. So, it is common to have foods from different nationality in their supermarkets. It makes immigrants feel they are in their home country. Moreover, travelling worldwide becomes more accessible, which leads to exchanging culture between countries. The main primary aspect of a culture is cuisine and diet. Also, trying different cuisines is a convenient and budget-friendly way to be exposure to another culture, and makes people feel they are in that country.

However, there are some negative effects related to this trend. The most important one is the safety issue. In other words, it takes a lot of time to transfer food which could results in becoming spoiled. In addition, imported food costs a lot for consumers, which is not reasonable and affordable; because the high cost of international shipping will be added to the products.

To conclude, after seeing both pros and cons, as far as I am concerned, it is a positive development. It plays a crucial role in immigrants’ feelings and increase public awareness regarding different cuisines.