"In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?"

In the past, people used to eat whatever was produced by their lands. Nowadays, buyers have easy access to food from around the globe, in nearby markets. In this essay, I will argue that the advantages of buying food from a supermarket produced all over the world, outweigh the disadvantages.

One clear disadvantage of consuming worldwide products is that, eating food not cultivated in its season, seems to be unhealthy. For instance, when we go to a supermarket, we have a variety of food imported from the opposite part of the planet, which may not meet the harvesting time of where we live. That is why eating Ananas in the middle of winter in Canada, may not be as healthy as it looks like.

On the other hand, there are two main advantages of buying worldwide eatery from big markets which are: experiencing exotic food at your doorstep, and meeting your tastes’ desire whenever you want to. As a result, you do not need to take a plane and travel to China if you are eager to taste a new Chinese plate; you just have to go and buy the ingredients from the supermarket. Consequently, your desire will be always met, because the culinary empire is near you. For example, if your teen, who is living in Mexico, will come one day and inform you that he desires to eat Russian food, you will not make him troubles, but you will go and meet his desire by buying raw materials and helping him in the cooking process.

In conclusion, while it is true that accessing all the food of all the populations around the globe may be unhealthy, buying it from supermarkets has the advantage of answering your desires on the spot, without having to travel to discover new tastes.