In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The idea of incorporating digital payments has become quite fashionable recently, with some major organizatoins and governments believing it has great benefits. However, there is also substantial opposition to the concept and have varying arguments, which will be discussed further.

On the one hand, those who support the idea of utilizing mobile phones for payments points out the benefits to the country and its digital literacy, thereby leading to an increase in their economical growth. Furthermore, using digital wallets also provide higher security and faster processing times compared to physical processing times by banks.Moreover, It is also true that using mobile wallets leads to an ease of access, not only for the customer but also for the vendors and merchants.

On the other hand, many other feel that this practice has disruptive effect which outweighs its possible benefit to the individual. For example, if application server is not working, it would hinder the processing times and might results in invalid transactions. Another counter-argument is there have been cases of digital thefts, which have been difficult to trace even for the larger organizations and governments. Finally, some feel that the whole idea of smart payments is more suited to corporate environments, where speed and network bandwidth have higher relevance.

Overall, it seems advisable that the decision to incorporate digital payment methods should be based on the robust service provides and secure transaction systems, rather than on a general view of trend followed by the citizens. It would appear that this serves the interest of both the governments and the general public.