In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In contemporary society recently, a large number of individuals have spent too much time at their company instead of coming back home. This essay attempts to shed light on several prominent reasons why this occurs before concluding that this tendency could impact negatively both their family and themself.

There are two primary reasons as to why more workers nowadays are extending working hours. First and foremost, people are willing to work extra hours for financial reasons.. With competition in the labor market, many staffs have to face the risk of employee termination because of applying latest technological inventions, so those feel the need to harder working to maintain positions to obtain occupational mobility. In addition, the costs of living tend to be higher, which is one of the significant issues putting in overtime. A higher population density is naturally concomitant with increased demands for goods and commodities, which, in turn, drive the general prices higher. As a result, a vast number of residents work extra time at workstations because they have no choice.

However, doing overtime could be fraught with pitfalls. The worker’ health inevitably suffers negative impacts.The staff have a risk of mental fatigue or obesity. Working overtime can detrimental influence one’s work-life balance, since it deprives people of their time for personal life, which causes pressure for mental and physical health, their obesity and pain are common diseases. In addition, this problem could break their family’ happiness. Family is the first school of children so parents have to need to spend enough time to teach their development, thus, If fathers or mothers are not teaching possibility, their boy or daughter could lack of emotion, and they can be a potential source of social evils that is one of the essential reason causing broken husbands or wifes.

In conclusion. There are commedable values in individuals’ life such as money, health, and family, so balancing both work and relationships is more important than owning property.