In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

One school of thought holds that employees in current society are staying at their workplace more than in the past. This essay attempts to shed light on some underlying motives behind this trend before concluding that this phenomenon is indeed a negative development.

There are two main reasons that citizens decide to spend more time for work. The first rationale is that doing extra time is a way of helping citizens cover their own needs. In many metropolitans, the average hard wage is not enough for residents to live comfortably and fulfill even some elemental requirements such as for the accommodation or nutrient food, leading to sequentially working for longer time in their offices. The second implication is that companies with a huge workload often require their staff longer hours to accomplish their assignments. Bankers, for example, often have to deal with numerous transactions, which are not allowed to be laid off to the next day, after their closed time.

For those reasons, there are scores of detrimental effects of overworking being put into the society and families as a result. First, this tendency could deprive precious family time together. When going home late from work, parents may get tired and do not have time to share and play with their offspring, thereby widening family gap and lack of sympathy to each other. Moreover, continuous sacrificing for jobs could generate a myriad of health problems for staff in the long term. For instance, a sedentary lifestyle, which appears when someone sits for a long time in the absence of doing exercise, is becoming more popular than ever due to the fact that workers need to be in one place for hours to finish their tasks, otherwise they would be disrupted.

In conclusion, despite being of paramount importance to make ends meet, investing too much time in their workplace is desperately fraught with pitfalls for the aforementioned explanations.