If some people get a chance to choose between life without work and spending most of the time working, then they would choose not to work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world the term work has many definitions. Some would say work means that you have a position in a corporate ladder – either as a staff or manager. On the other hand, people who are relying on their income from social media, would say that attending a grand opening of a new shopping mall is a job. With this condition, I disagree with the statement that people would decide to stop working if they have a choice of not working.

Firstly, work provides a space for self development and enhances critical skills. Throughout my experience as a professional working in an NGO, I found my abilities are increasing. For example, I could present my ideas and opinions clearly compared to when I was jobless. Furthermore, work allows us to have a clear routine. Having a clear routine is an advantage for people to ensure their productivity and kills their boredom.

One would argue that work can lead to mental breakdown and burn out. While their concerns are valid, we have to consider that not all occupations are leading to this condition. Having a job is crucial to give us an opportunity to meet with people from different backgrounds. This opportunity allows us to understand more about society and current condition. In my opinion, working allows us to see things from a different perspective and to stay within our own bubble.

To conclude, I strongly disagree that people should choose to stop working. I believe that working will bring more advantages such as self-development, increased skills, and opportunity for networking.