If some people get a chance to choose between life without work and spending most of the time working, then they would choose not to work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, the term “work” has many valid definitions. One would argue, work means having a job with a definite salary. On the other hand, people who are clinging their money to social media would argue visiting a brand new cafe is part of their job. With these circumstances, I would say I do not agree with the argument that individuals would prefer to stay at home than work if they have a chance.

In my humble opinion, having an occupation brings so many advantages. Firstly, it allows each individual to grow both as a person and professional. In many companies, they offer many workshops and training to increase the employees’ skills and ability. For example, in my current job, I have received training on business management. Through this activity, I am allowed to deepen my understanding of business and management. Not only that, it helps me to become more confident in navigating business.

Secondly, you can meet people from different backgrounds through work. It allows us to have a broader understanding of social issues and dynamics. I believe that this kind of networking will be achieved through work. Furthermore, being an employee means having a clear routine. I reckon having a clear routine is very important because it will prevent us from feeling bored.

Conversely, some people would argue that employment brings us closer to mental breakdown and burn out. While their arguments are valid, we have to consider that not every job puts us under pressure. In fact, being jobless will also make us under the weather. I would say that because I was in the shoes a year ago. Last year, I decided to take a break from work because I did not enjoy it and was so stressed. But, after a month of not working, I started to feel depressed. I got bored easily and my brain could not function well since I did not have time to think strategically.

Both opinions of work and not working are valid. But, for me personally, I stand with the idea that people would still choose to work even though they have a choice not to. The individuals will prefer to have a job, albeit it is not in a corporation. Just for the sake of personal growth.