In many countries, people are spending more hours at their workplace. Why is that? Is that a negative and positive development?

In recent years, people are becoming busier at their workplace and concentrate excessively on their occupations. This essay aims to shed light on the driving factors before this phenomenon before concluding that this is indeed a negative development.

There are two major reasons as to why people spend more of their time working. One rationale is that many individuals focusing on their jobs to stand more chances of being promoted. Because people who dedicate enthusiastically to working would draw the attention of managers, they might be trusted to take over important positions, and this could help them to improve their living standard. Another reason is the lack of employees in many enterprises is rising . Given that the huge workload in the corporations is challenging for a small number of workers to cope with, many individuals need to increase the working time to accomplish their jobs on time.

This tendency has several negative influences on their families and themselves. Firstly, although increasing working time allows them to earn more money, this would have an adverse bearing on their health. For example, people need time to take a rest and relax after stressful periods of time at the workplace rather than continuing working. Therefore, if putting a person under enormous pressure, they might make them carry more potential health risks, and even reduce their work performance. Secondly, concentrating more on employment hinders people from taking care of their family. Because they might imbalance their time between jobs and families when lacking time, their relationship with family members would be exacerbated, such as couples might not remain mutually affectionate, and this could give rise to numerous family problems, even divorce.

In conclusion, there are some underlying motives to blame for this negative development, and it is having undesirable influences on their families and these individuals.