In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food than can be grown in their local area. As a result, much of the food people eat today has to come from other regions. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

In many regions, inhabitants tend to eat a wider variety of food than can be found in their own country. As a consequence, the majority of food people eat today come from other nations. From my perspective, the drawbacks of this trend can be outweighed by its benefits.

On the one hand, it can cause economic downturn in some fields. First of all, the more people eat oversea food, the less people pay attention to national products or purchase them. It is the reason why many kinds of national good become unpopular. As a result, it can have a negative impact on the revenue of these products. Therefore, farmers will change the food that they grown or even find another career. Futhermore, these national food may be disappear in the future because it cannot compete with overseas food, and the national culture can be eroded.

On the other hand, this trend can help people become more healthy. By eating various kinds of ingredients in daily diet, people can absorb enough fundamental substances such as protein, lipid or carbonhydrate. So they can avoid many diseases related to lack of necessary nutrients. Moreover, they can expand their knowledge significantly. Most dishes in the world include unique cultural values, so when people from other countries eat these dishes, they might have a deep insight about these countries. For example, many people can recognise the carefulness in Japanese food so they can guess some Japanese’ characteristics such as kind and hospitality.

In conclusion, the profit of some fields can be decreased due to the various kind of overseas ingredients in the daily diet. However, this trend also prevent people from lack of ingredients and expand their visions.