In many countries, prison is the most common solution when people commit a crime. However, if they were to receive a better education, it would prevent them from being criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, people are usually sentenced to several days, months, or even years of imprisonment for their crimes. However, the idea that being offenders can be avoided through better education is a controversial issue among the majority. I partially agree with this statement and provide my arguments and reasoning in the following essay.

To begin with, there are different types of criminal activities. The lighter the crime, the lighter the punishment they receive. Criminals such as jaywalkers and pickpockets can be thoroughly educated to prevent them from committing these crimes. If they repeat unlawful actions, they should be fined a hefty sum of money. This consequently leads them to understand that violations of the law will be subject to severe legal action, and therefore, the crime rate will decrease gradually.

Conversely, criminals such as serial killers or arsonists must be imprisoned for public safety and peace. Even though they are educated, there is a high chance that they will not change their behavior. Correspondingly, for some psychopathic individuals, killing has become a hobby. It is hard for them to form a healthy mindset unless they receive intense psychological sessions and care.

To sum up, people are sentenced according to their crimes. Only if these educational methods are implemented properly can they prevent individuals from becoming offenders. To achieve a safe and crime-free society, we all need to pay serious attention to this matter and take collective action, such as raising public awareness and supporting ex-convicts with hope and determination.