In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, people who are employed in the educational sphere more often complain about pupils’ disrespectful attitude towards teachers and peers. From my perspective, the lack of parents’ attention and poorly developed soft skills are two main factors leading to such issues.

Firstly, in today’s economic situation which is mainly represented by rapidly increasing prices the older generation has to spend more hours at work in order to earn abundant amount of money for their kids’ future. As a result, the process of youths’ socialization is getting more influenced by social media which sometimes provides the audience with questionable content. Parents do not have an opportunity to fully control the information that the younger generation consumes. As a consequence, teenagers can learn wrong values such as rude behavior.

Secondly, limited time that children spend offline effects the way they communicate to each other. For example, it is a common thing for the Z generation to have problems with the understanding of non-verbal signals such as gestures. The lack of this essential knowledge causes a misunderstanding between students and school staff.

From my point of view, the best decision that can be made is to add extra curriculum classes during which adolescents can learn how to cope with stress, avoid conflicts and be more tolerant towards others. Moreover, it is necessary to organize sport activities for classmates as they are considered to be an extremely useful tool for teambuilding. For instance, during my school years my class went camping twice a year which helped us to get to know each other better and to find interests which we all share.

In conclusion, the fact that in our modern world students’ relatives can be overwhelmed by work and it is becoming more common for younger generation to communicate via internet, certain problems with pupils’ behavior can appear. However, the arrangement of a wide range of indoor and outdoor activities for students can help them to relief stress and to start communicating with others in a calm way.