In many countries schools have severe problems with student behaviour. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Many schools around the world are dealing with student misbehavior, which I believe is largely driven by excessive screen time both in class and at home. In order to address this problem, both schools and parents should work together to get children back on track and encourage good behavior.

Students often spend considerable time using their gadgets during school recess and even more time on them after returning home, which may largely explain their disruptive behavior in class. Once accustomed to the constant entertainment and stimulation provided by social media apps, they may find it difficult to focus on classroom activities, and, in turn, may annoy their teachers or talk to their classmates during lessons. My 11-year-old niece enjoys scrolling her TikTok page for hours because she says it is relaxing. However, she can no longer pay close attention when her parents talk to her, instead urging them to let her go and use the app again. If every student were like her at school, classroom learning and discipline would be seriously affected.

Therefore, there are steps teachers and parents should take to help students develop a better attitude by involving them in more productive activities. This initiative is definitely important in keeping them from merely entertaining themselves through digital means and being disruptive in class. High schools in Denver, where I live, have implemented four 15-minute sessions of interactive puzzles throughout the day, which students must complete at the end of each class. In addition, more parents there have been asking their children to lend a hand with preparing dinner and gardening, as most homes have yards that require regular maintenance. This way, children can be more active, attentive, and better able to develop the self-discipline.

In conclusion, the main reason for students in many countries to misbehave at school is overuse of screen-based entertainment, and this issue can be addressed through active participation encouraged by both schools and parents.