In many countries, the cost of using public transport is rising rapidly. What are the causes of this problem? What solutions can be implemented to address it?

In recent years, the fare of public transportation is increasing widely and becoming a significant concern worldwide which is due more fuel consumption and increasing maintenance price. This essay will give a better solution to address this issue.

Public transport is consider as a primary method of transportation in many countries. However, due to increasing the price of fuel leads government to increase the fare because they are not getting sufficient funds from central authorities. Although, roads are being used by both government and private vechicles, they cannot charge the infrastructure fees on personal cars, hence these charges are indirectly joing to public transportation to maintain the roads and bridges. For instance, renowned Indian newspaper released the case study showing that 35% of the repairing cost of public vechicles are taken from transportation allocated money which ended up in the increase of bus fare in about 3% than usual.

There are few measures which can be used to solve this rapid fare increment. Firstly, introducing electrical type of transportation in public sectors instead of using fossil fuels. For example, Canada and US have been using electrical engine systems using batteries in their public transports which not only allowing them to save money but also helps to protect environment. Secondly, imposing tax on private vechicles which are using roadways as it will alleviate public to use cars and encourage them to use public transport as a result, this will generate good revenue for government..

In conclusion, fuel price and maintaining infrastructure showing a major cause of the fare inflation, however if government use different menthod of power usage to run vechicle such as renewable resources and electric batteries leads to save money instead of spending for maintenance which will drastically reduce the fare of public transportation.